Executive Board of Directors

UTEC’s Board of Directors is a dedicated group of individuals who are committed to social and economic success for young people with proven risk factors. Our Board of Directors includes business leaders and community advocates. The Board sets organizational policy, provides fiscal oversight, supports fundraising efforts, evaluates the Executive Director, and serves as ambassadors for UTEC’s mission.

Joe Avellone 
Corporate Senior Vice President
Residence: Wellesley, MA
Joe Babiec, Vice President
Managing Partner
Mission First Strategy, LLC
Residence: Boston, MA
David Brown, Treasurer
Vice President, Commercial Lending 
Enterprise Bank and Community Trust
Residence: Westford, MA
Richard Cavanaugh, President
Founding Partner, Common Grow, LLC
Board member since: 2006
Residence: Petersham, MA
Belinda Juran 
Residence: Lowell, M

Joe Babiec, Vice Chair
Managing Partner, Mission First Strategy, LLC  

Diana Frothingham
Consultant, LeadWell Partners

Belinda Juran
Partner, WilmerHale 

Neil Maniar, PhD, MPH
Professor of Public Health Practice; MPH Program Director at Northeastern University

M. Scott Mellen, Chair
President & CEO, wTe Corporation 

Tim Nichols
Chief of Organizational Effectiveness, Ropes and Gray LLP  

Susan Smith, Clerk/Secretary
Student Support Services, Lowell High School (retired)  

David Takeuchi, PhD
Professor and Dorothy Book Scholar, Associate Dean for Research, Boston College

Barb Vlacich
Vice President, Global Sales Ops & Chief of Staff, Kronos Incorporated